BP2 Pinterest

With over a thousand new social media sites and tools on the Internet for businesses to incorporate into their marketing plan, who could know where to begin. Of course I have a Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and a few others, but there are a lot more options out there. Lately I have been hearing a lot about Pinterest, but I had no real idea of what it was, how it was used, or how I could incorporate it in my marketing campaign.

http://pinterest.com/

So, of course the nosy side of me had to take a closer look. Well, lets say I was immediately turned off by the fact that you had to receive an invite to become involved. I am not mad at the exclusivity of the site, but what is this? Is it an online Elks after hours club? Do I need ID to get a spot?

Anyways, with all that being said, I was on the site and they do give you the opportunity to check out a few pins while you wait for someone to invite you into their online community. What I found was pretty interesting, and it may make me continue to use the site once I get my acceptance email saying I have been accepted into their online fraternity/sorority.

Basically, people upload pictures and people comment on it. I saw pictures of people’s hairstyles, recipe’s, bridges, and pretty much anything you can think of. Then I began to imagine how a business could use the site. Your company could upload a logo, pictures or any interesting thing that has a link to your website. People will see the logo or message and become intrigued and poof, a brand new patron visits your site.  But honestly, without an e-commerce function, it is nothing more than a free billboard.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

